True Beauty

It’s taken me years to not only figure out who I really am, but to also accept myself for my strengths as well as my weaknesses. I used to try and be like everyone else, thinking social acceptance was necessary for happiness and if I could just be apart of the crowd I would feel at ease.

The opposite was true, as much as I tried to go with the flow, I was actually swimming against my own current. Year after year, I have discovered new qualities, interests, and desires about what I really want in life. I mourned the loss of so many people that were never right for me to start with, lifestyles that I didn’t actually want, and a past that is so turbulent with ridiculous choices it took me a few more years to be okay with all of those harsh lessons.

I don’t fit inside a box, I don’t think most people do, but we’ve been conditioned to live in fear of being outcasted or isolated that we all follow the herd and rarely even think about living differently. Somewhere along the way I was forced out of the flock and I am so thankful for it, as difficult as it could be at times to be completely alone, it’s what my soul needed.

I have a free spirit and going in my own direction allowed it to soar, I don’t fit in with the crowd and I wouldn’t want to. I politely decline social norms if I don’t feel authentically attracted to them, remove myself from relationships that are either toxic or damaging, and on a daily basis I only engage in thoughts that promote happiness, love, and personal freedom.

I don’t think I have it all figured out, but I do believe if we all listened to our intuition a little bit more and followed the crowd a little bit less, we’d all be a lot happier, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

